Days 6-8 - Roncesvalles, Spain - Reisverslag uit Roncesvalles, Spanje van Wanderer Sea - WaarBenJij.nu Days 6-8 - Roncesvalles, Spain - Reisverslag uit Roncesvalles, Spanje van Wanderer Sea - WaarBenJij.nu

Days 6-8 - Roncesvalles, Spain

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Wanderer

27 April 2013 | Spanje, Roncesvalles

It's snowing here! Terribly cold too. My socks are wet from walking up and down the courtyard. It looks pretty shocking, especially considering the weather was sunny and warm when I crossed the pass here and there was even some spring rain.

I've started voluntary work with my team at the Dutch Roncesvalles refugio. I took most of the laundry shifts in the basement. People bring their laundry in small crates with their names and bed numbers, we wash and dry it, and even fold it back up and return it to their beds. An all-in service for only € 2,70, which is much appreciated by most. Even though this room is subterranean it's not cold at all, in fact it's probably the warmest place in the building because of all the machines here.

Business is literally booming, it's crazy busy. They've had to open the old building as well to sleep all those pilgrims. There are so many I was still folding clothes last night after 10, most of it wasn't dry yet, so I'll be closing shop at 8PM from now on. Yesterday morning I woke up the pilgrims in the main dormitory by singing Taizé songs. Afterwards, some asked if there was a nun working there :) But they liked it a lot, so I might do it more often. This service comes free :)

There's a nice restaurant in the complex here. They only serve meat and seafood, so I've been eating only fish. After last year I've given up all hope of finding a proper veggie meal anywhere in Spain - these people mostly still haven't even heard of one :)

I guess my day-to-day experiences will be largely the same these next two weeks, so I won't have much to tell, except in the event of something extraordinary, and chances of that happening are slim to say the least. On the other hand, you never know... Anything could happen on the Camino.

To give you some idea of what this place looks like, I'll add the big picture from their website to this entry. This was obviously taken in better days ;)

Oh, and I've uploaded a few pictures with my Day 2 report (Lourdes), so if you haven't seen those (and you probably haven't), go check them out. I'll upload more pictures when I can, but the computer is unavailable most of the time.

  • 27 April 2013 - 17:43

    Marijke Thijsse:

    Ik heb genoten van je reisverhalen tot op heden. We zijn gister thuis gekomen vanuit Spane en nu heb ik alles vanaf dag 1 achter elkaar gelezen. Een gekke ervaring om in de sneeuw te arriveren na de warme camino van vorig jaar. Alle goeds bij je goede werk in Roncevalles en hopelijk ook gezelligheid. Sterkte bij alle drukte daar. Alles zal gaan, zoals het moet! Mirtha en ik hebben dat vorig jaar heel goed geleerd; jij waarschijnlijk ook. Hartelijke groetjes en blijf gezond hoor! Marijke Thijsse

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Wanderer

Hoi! Hier vind je Wanderer's reisdagboek. Na 10 jaar studeren was het hoog tijd om er eens voor lange tijd tussenuit te gaan en even helemaal tot mezelf te komen. Mijn reis begint met een kort bezoek aan een penvriend en een museum in Parijs, hierna reis ik door voor een maand vrijwilligerswerk in Taizé. Maar de échte reis begint pas daarna: 800 km. lopen, van St.Jean-Pied-de-Port naar Santiago de Compostella.

Actief sinds 25 Mei 2012
Verslag gelezen: 223
Totaal aantal bezoekers 30604

Voorgaande reizen:

20 April 2013 - 16 Juni 2013

Camino de Santiago de Compostela, part II

30 Mei 2012 - 09 Juli 2012

Camino de Santiago de Compostela, part I

Landen bezocht: