Days 47-49 - Back @ Trabadelo - Reisverslag uit Trabadelo, Spanje van Wanderer Sea - WaarBenJij.nu Days 47-49 - Back @ Trabadelo - Reisverslag uit Trabadelo, Spanje van Wanderer Sea - WaarBenJij.nu

Days 47-49 - Back @ Trabadelo

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Wanderer

09 Juni 2013 | Spanje, Trabadelo

On June 7th, I took the bus from Santagio back to Villafranca del Bierzo, and from there I walked another 11 kilometers back to the hostel at Trabadelo. I got motion sickness on the bus - probably because I hadn't been inside a motorized vehicle for so long. I'm going to spend my last week in Spain here, to do that mural for them, as I explained before. The host, Alicia (a very sweet lady!), was very very happy to see me and is giving me free reign over what I'm going to do. They will be getting the paint tomorrow (Monday), so I'll have about four days left to do two walls, which should be fine. I'm planning on drawing a pilgrim on the Camino on one wall, and a depiction of the shrine of Lourdes on the other. This hostel is part of the Fraternidad de Esperanza (the brotherhood of hope), an organization that runs many religious hostels throughout Europe apparently, and is based in Lourdes, so my plan for this mural if very fitting.

This hostel is very new and has only recently been built up by volunteers. When I was here last (on my way to Santiago), they were still working on the first floor (i.e. the ground floor), putting in the tiles, painting the walls, etc, and everyone had to sleep upstairs. Most of that work is now done and it turned out really well, there are beds here and everything. Aside from Alicia, there are two others here: Efram, a guy my age who broke off his Camino to help out, and Louis, who is a little older and a local. The two of them put in a lot of work here. And today we got more help: A Spanish girl called Rebecca decided to break off her Camino and stay here. She is now in charge of setting up a kitchen garden to Alicia can grow her own food. All we need now is a plumber to set us up with, well, some plumbing. Who knows, maybe there is a pilgrim out there who knows plumbing and even brought his tools, haha. Alicia said, 'God must love this house very much, because he keeps sending me little angels to help me with it' :)

Another pilgrim had painted a Jesus with open arms at the entrance (to welcome pilgrims), and I finished that painting by giving him a nice background, with a bridge, some mountains and flower fields. I'm getting the hang of this and am really looking forward to doing those other murals this week.

I have exactly four days left, before I need to get on the train to Barcelona, at the other end of Spain, and see Paul again :)

  • 10 Juni 2013 - 11:32

    Bart:

    Ik ging de foto's nog eens goed bekijken, toen ik de foto van de kaarsen in Lourdes tegenkwam.
    Dankjewel voor de kaars met mijn naam...
    Bartelijke groet.

  • 10 Juni 2013 - 11:36

    Rozemarijn:

    Schilderend je Camino-tocht afronden, dat is echt iets voor jou! Ik ben zo blij voor je! Nog een paar dagen en dan kun je samen met Paul genieten van Spanje, al is het maar voor een weekend. Daarna wachten Jorrit en ik je op, op Eindhoven airport. Ook al heb ik al je blogs gelezen, ik kan niet wachten tot ik je verhalen hoor en de foto's zie en alles. Ik moet zeggen, heb je best een beetje gemist hoor!
    Tot snel,
    kus, knuffel, liefs,
    Rozemarijn

  • 13 Juni 2013 - 00:25

    Marijke Thijsse:

    Gefeliciteerd met het beëindigen van 3 camino's. Leuk om al je verhalen te lezen.
    Heel veel plezier in Barcelona en verder met Paul. liefs en groetjes voor jullie beiden, ook van Mirtha.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Wanderer

Hoi! Hier vind je Wanderer's reisdagboek. Na 10 jaar studeren was het hoog tijd om er eens voor lange tijd tussenuit te gaan en even helemaal tot mezelf te komen. Mijn reis begint met een kort bezoek aan een penvriend en een museum in Parijs, hierna reis ik door voor een maand vrijwilligerswerk in Taizé. Maar de échte reis begint pas daarna: 800 km. lopen, van St.Jean-Pied-de-Port naar Santiago de Compostella.

Actief sinds 25 Mei 2012
Verslag gelezen: 409
Totaal aantal bezoekers 30518

Voorgaande reizen:

20 April 2013 - 16 Juni 2013

Camino de Santiago de Compostela, part II

30 Mei 2012 - 09 Juli 2012

Camino de Santiago de Compostela, part I

Landen bezocht: