Day 23 - Molinaseca - Reisverslag uit Molinaseca, Spanje van Wanderer Sea - WaarBenJij.nu Day 23 - Molinaseca - Reisverslag uit Molinaseca, Spanje van Wanderer Sea - WaarBenJij.nu

Day 23 - Molinaseca

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Wanderer

12 Mei 2013 | Spanje, Molinaseca

When I arrived at the Cruz de Ferro this morning, it was beautifully shrouded in fog. It was also very busy there with about two dozen pilgrims taking pictures and acting like tourists. So I sat down at a picnic table and waited half an hour until they were all gone, so I could have a moment in peace.

Stopped by Manjarin, and it didn't look all that great, so I'm happy I stayed where I did. The manager was dressed in this t-shirt, I guess he only wears his Templar Knight uniform when performing the associated rituals.

After 13 miles I arrived at my next hostel in the town of Molinaseca, still in Castile & León, 6 miles from the city of Ponferrada ("Iron Bridge"), which I will likely see tomorrow and which is the last major city on the Camino Francés, and in this region of Spain, before reaching Santiago the Compostela.

I walked here with an elderly couple of Irish sisters, their husbands had moved ahead. As we approached Molinaseca we evidently took a wrong turn somewhere, as the road led us further up the mountain beyond the town. All this while we could see our destination down in the valley in front of us. We went quite a while back in search of the Camino, at which point I lost them as well. The road I took had a dead end. Several hours had passed, so decided to just leave the known road and make my way through the country on a 45-degree slope. Suffice it to stay, I was happy to be carrying my pilgrim's cane to keep me from landing on my face. I made it to the town with a few scratches from thorns, no big deal. Tried to find the two ladies or their husbands, but they were nowhere to be found.

I'm going to take a shower and then see if I can find them again. I just hope they've found their way.

  • 13 Mei 2013 - 11:16

    Dimphy:

    Ha Wendela, Je bent al een heel eind gevorderd. Zo leuk om te lezen over de Camino, de steden en dorpen. Ik zie alles zo weer voor me. Ik heb ook een schildering gemaakt in de herberg van Hospital de Orbigo. Super leuk om te doen! Goed dat je weer fit bent, dat is wel erg belangrijk! Het valt me op in je verhalen dat het behoorlijk druk is op de Camino. Het lijkt wel drukker dan vorig jaar zomer... Afgelopen week heb ik samen met Jos een stuk van Pelgrimspad 2 gelopen, vanuit huis tot Weert. Dan zie je dat ons eigen Brabant toch ook erg mooi is. Dus vanaf nu volg ik je weer op de voet.
    Buen Camino! Dimphy.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Wanderer

Hoi! Hier vind je Wanderer's reisdagboek. Na 10 jaar studeren was het hoog tijd om er eens voor lange tijd tussenuit te gaan en even helemaal tot mezelf te komen. Mijn reis begint met een kort bezoek aan een penvriend en een museum in Parijs, hierna reis ik door voor een maand vrijwilligerswerk in Taizé. Maar de échte reis begint pas daarna: 800 km. lopen, van St.Jean-Pied-de-Port naar Santiago de Compostella.

Actief sinds 25 Mei 2012
Verslag gelezen: 204
Totaal aantal bezoekers 30604

Voorgaande reizen:

20 April 2013 - 16 Juni 2013

Camino de Santiago de Compostela, part II

30 Mei 2012 - 09 Juli 2012

Camino de Santiago de Compostela, part I

Landen bezocht: