Days 29-31 - Palas de Rey - Reisverslag uit Palas de Rey, Spanje van Wanderer Sea - WaarBenJij.nu Days 29-31 - Palas de Rey - Reisverslag uit Palas de Rey, Spanje van Wanderer Sea - WaarBenJij.nu

Days 29-31 - Palas de Rey

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Wanderer

20 Mei 2013 | Spanje, Palas de Rey

My birthday literally flushed away in the rain. It was almost another biblical flood. The rain was so bad I was about to give up, but I managed to squeeze in 12 miles. Stayed in Barbadelos where I got to dry my clothes. My so-called 'water resistant' watch held out exactly two days in the rain, so that went down the trash can right away. Good riddance.

Passed the 100km (62 miles) mark on Sunday. There's a mileage countdown every 500 yards, kind of takes away the surprise doesn't it. The rules state I have to get two stamps every day from now on, so they can tell I haven't cheated. I started taking pictures of the trees, they're so beautiful, some are a thousand years old! Up until now I barely touched my music player and just enjoyed the silence, and the sounds of birds, trees and the water. This part of the Camino is so busy though, I can barely hear myself think. So I got out my music, which made me walk faster than usual too, I covered 12 miles in half a day. Made a total of 17 miles and stayed in Gonzar. A pretty boring government-run hostel - modern facilities, affordable pricing, but no atmosphere whatsoever. I lost my ear plugs halfway through the night and was kept awake by an ample italian guy who did not only snore loudly, but kept farting a lot at the same time, as though he was soiling himself. Ew. http://youtu.be/5110hk9W71E?t=24s

Today I covered another 10 miles to Palas de Rey. Doesn't look nearly as fancy as it sounds, the visigoth palace is long gone. Another government hostel, I hope to find something nicer tomorrow. Paid for laundry this time instead of washing my clothes by hand, to make sure they get really clean for a change. Also took the time to clean out my backpack and rearrange some stuff. I'm all set for the final 35 miles to Santiago! :)

It's next to impossible to get my hands on actual postage stamps around here, it's as though they belong to the black market. Interestingly enough, every single sh*thole I pass through has a mailbox which is emptied every working day. I guess I'll just hold out until Santiagio and mail some cards there.

Most of the Camino consists of muddy roads in these parts, which are shared by local farmers moving their livestock to the meadow and back. Have to be careful not to step into whatever cows have left behind, and there sure is a lot of that around.

I appreciate all your comments, even though it may take a while for me to read them!

  • 20 Mei 2013 - 21:58

    Maria Van Woerden:

    Dag Wendela, Ik wens je veel moed om het laatste stuk te lopen! Je treft het niet met het weer,
    ik bewonder je uithoudingsvermogen. Fijn om je verslag te kunnen lezen; i k ben een gemeentelid uit Geldrop en heb je in de kerk gezien.
    Wees dapper hart, houd altijd goede moed!
    Ik groet je hartelijk, Maria.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Wanderer

Hoi! Hier vind je Wanderer's reisdagboek. Na 10 jaar studeren was het hoog tijd om er eens voor lange tijd tussenuit te gaan en even helemaal tot mezelf te komen. Mijn reis begint met een kort bezoek aan een penvriend en een museum in Parijs, hierna reis ik door voor een maand vrijwilligerswerk in Taizé. Maar de échte reis begint pas daarna: 800 km. lopen, van St.Jean-Pied-de-Port naar Santiago de Compostella.

Actief sinds 25 Mei 2012
Verslag gelezen: 265
Totaal aantal bezoekers 30608

Voorgaande reizen:

20 April 2013 - 16 Juni 2013

Camino de Santiago de Compostela, part II

30 Mei 2012 - 09 Juli 2012

Camino de Santiago de Compostela, part I

Landen bezocht: