Day 12 - Quintanilla del Monte - 25km - Reisverslag uit Quintanilla del Monte, Spanje van Wanderer Sea - WaarBenJij.nu Day 12 - Quintanilla del Monte - 25km - Reisverslag uit Quintanilla del Monte, Spanje van Wanderer Sea - WaarBenJij.nu

Day 12 - Quintanilla del Monte - 25km

Door: wendelart

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Wanderer

25 Juni 2012 | Spanje, Quintanilla del Monte

Today my guide book said there's a monastery in a cave here with a chicken run at the center of it (it's dedicated to some now-holy guy who had a thing for chickens). But I got there so early the chickens weren't there yet. Early bird missed the gagh.

At some point during today's trip I passed a sign that said "550 km to Santiago the Compostela". That means I had covered 250 km by then, which seems very fitting for the 12th day of my journey :)

Then I found myself surrounded by a heard of sheep. Real ones, not stupid people (Dutch pun). And some time later I ran into this pilgrim from Uruguay who was washing his clothes at a fountain in a town square. Hilarious :) Also, I run into pilgrims from time to time who do their Camino in the opposite direction for some reason. Rather awkward when you think about it.

I'm in tip top shape today, no tribble walking at all, my feet are most eager! Had a break - i.e. a glass of ice-cold Coke - in a town called Redecilla del Camino. I'm sorry I didn't get to see Santo Domingo, I'm told it's a beautiful city, but it just wasn't at a convenient distance for me.

The refugio I had planned to stay at tonight was closed, apparently, so I had to move along to the next town, in the burning sun :s But, all's well that ends well, I found a place to stay tonight in a town that has two buildings and a cow. Talk about the middle of nowhere... Found a cosy little tavern though, run by a friendly lady with two little kids. Sharing my room with a German couple, which is a nice change from speaking English all day.

Once again I'm in dire need of a washing machine, which they have here! Not for my socks though - this time, my pants and shirt may be turned into a bio weapon. I'm convinced: The third world war will be fought shooting pilgrims at the enemy. Ha! :)

Oíche mhaith! (Good night!)

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Wanderer

Hoi! Hier vind je Wanderer's reisdagboek. Na 10 jaar studeren was het hoog tijd om er eens voor lange tijd tussenuit te gaan en even helemaal tot mezelf te komen. Mijn reis begint met een kort bezoek aan een penvriend en een museum in Parijs, hierna reis ik door voor een maand vrijwilligerswerk in Taizé. Maar de échte reis begint pas daarna: 800 km. lopen, van St.Jean-Pied-de-Port naar Santiago de Compostella.

Actief sinds 25 Mei 2012
Verslag gelezen: 183
Totaal aantal bezoekers 30602

Voorgaande reizen:

20 April 2013 - 16 Juni 2013

Camino de Santiago de Compostela, part II

30 Mei 2012 - 09 Juli 2012

Camino de Santiago de Compostela, part I

Landen bezocht: