Day 7 - Los Arcos - 22km - Reisverslag uit Los Arcos, Spanje van Wanderer Sea - WaarBenJij.nu Day 7 - Los Arcos - 22km - Reisverslag uit Los Arcos, Spanje van Wanderer Sea - WaarBenJij.nu

Day 7 - Los Arcos - 22km

Door: wendelart

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Wanderer

20 Juni 2012 | Spanje, Los Arcos

Walked 22 kilometers today and arrived in this little town called Los Arcos. Looks like an old western town: Dry, barren. Much like the road on my way here. Not a tree in sight for at least 12 kilometers, and at least 35 degrees. Damn.

Passed a vinyard on my way here, and they had a fountain next to the road that poured out wine instead of water. So I filled up my bottle and drank wine the rest of the day :) This may account for the poor heat management on my part.

At some point, a man in his 70s walked past me. He had a long beard. He'd started his Camino in Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port, like me, but what amazed me was that he'd only started two days ago! This is his third day and he's already gotten as far as I have!

Also ran into a group of bikers from the Netherlands who'd walked the Camino a few years back and now tried it on their motorcycles. They shared their experiences with me and warned me about fake pilgrims: Apparently, lots of American teenagers 'do' the last 100 kilometers, going from place to place on public transport, collecting stamps and eventually their 'medal' at the end, so they can put the Camino on their résumés (CVs). Which apparently is a big thing across the pond. They bring makeup and lots of other stuff you don't need here and want to take lots of pictures of themselves with real pilgrims, so they can 'prove' their worth back home. Well, I certainly won't be posing with them!

Going to take a shower now and then on to some dinner. Bye!

  • 24 Juni 2012 - 21:57

    Marco:

    Bodegas Irache! Unfortunately on my camino I got there too early in the morning and the wine fountain was still closed.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Wanderer

Hoi! Hier vind je Wanderer's reisdagboek. Na 10 jaar studeren was het hoog tijd om er eens voor lange tijd tussenuit te gaan en even helemaal tot mezelf te komen. Mijn reis begint met een kort bezoek aan een penvriend en een museum in Parijs, hierna reis ik door voor een maand vrijwilligerswerk in Taizé. Maar de échte reis begint pas daarna: 800 km. lopen, van St.Jean-Pied-de-Port naar Santiago de Compostella.

Actief sinds 25 Mei 2012
Verslag gelezen: 191
Totaal aantal bezoekers 30593

Voorgaande reizen:

20 April 2013 - 16 Juni 2013

Camino de Santiago de Compostela, part II

30 Mei 2012 - 09 Juli 2012

Camino de Santiago de Compostela, part I

Landen bezocht: