Day 14 - Atapuerca - 20km - Reisverslag uit Atapuerca, Spanje van Wanderer Sea - WaarBenJij.nu Day 14 - Atapuerca - 20km - Reisverslag uit Atapuerca, Spanje van Wanderer Sea - WaarBenJij.nu

Day 14 - Atapuerca - 20km

Door: wendelart

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Wanderer

27 Juni 2012 | Spanje, Atapuerca

Started my climb over the Montes de Oca mountain range at 6AM this morning, and 12km and 4 hours later I found myself on the other side. Put my feet up in a cold fountain, in a place called San Juan de Ortega.

Today's walk wasn't as hot. Crossed several pine forests, it was cloudy and there was quite a nice breeze. My feet are finally starting to act up though, so I'm down with fatigue a lot sooner as well.

After a total of 20km I decided to call it a day in this town called Atapuerca. Which apparently is famous for a great archeological find: Bones of the Homo Antecessor, a prehistoric version of us. And this town apparently has some importance in Spanish history: There was a battle here in 1053, that cost the Kingdom of Navarra a lot of power. Or so my tour book tells me.

I skipped their Stone Age Open Air Museum though. Went straight to a refugio, which is a former farm building, with the old straw roof still on top. A former stable now serves as a dormitory. Nice atmosphere! I took a shower and the shower head came down right on top of me. I tried to explain this to the owner but he only speaks Spanish, so I tried to re-enact the event, and of course the head came down again. He got it :)

Cooked dinner with two guys, one from Spain and one from Korea. Got fresh vegetables, but there's no cooker in this refugio, so we had to resort to this camping gas burner. Which resulted in a total mess. But we had a lot of fun doing it ;)

And guess what... A hail storm. Out of nowhere. Ice falling out of the sky. Lasted about 30 minutes. And then the sun returned. Total weirdness. The eco system must be drunk.

My Polish friend took a bus to Burgos, the next big city. I think I'll walk with the Korean guy tomorrow, he seems nice.

Good night!

  • 28 Juni 2012 - 07:53

    Lies:

    Dag Wendela,

    Als ik jouw verhalen lees moet ik denken aan de filmpjes die we vorige week zagen in het kader van 'Wereldhumanismedag'. Het thema was Weerbaarheid en Veerkracht, samengevat in "Keep on Steppin'".
    Dat gaat jou zeker lukken, al dan niet in gezelschap van mede-pelgrims!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Wanderer

Hoi! Hier vind je Wanderer's reisdagboek. Na 10 jaar studeren was het hoog tijd om er eens voor lange tijd tussenuit te gaan en even helemaal tot mezelf te komen. Mijn reis begint met een kort bezoek aan een penvriend en een museum in Parijs, hierna reis ik door voor een maand vrijwilligerswerk in Taizé. Maar de échte reis begint pas daarna: 800 km. lopen, van St.Jean-Pied-de-Port naar Santiago de Compostella.

Actief sinds 25 Mei 2012
Verslag gelezen: 160
Totaal aantal bezoekers 30600

Voorgaande reizen:

20 April 2013 - 16 Juni 2013

Camino de Santiago de Compostela, part II

30 Mei 2012 - 09 Juli 2012

Camino de Santiago de Compostela, part I

Landen bezocht: