Day 15 - Burgos - 25km - Reisverslag uit Burgos, Spanje van Wanderer Sea - WaarBenJij.nu Day 15 - Burgos - 25km - Reisverslag uit Burgos, Spanje van Wanderer Sea - WaarBenJij.nu

Day 15 - Burgos - 25km

Door: wendelart

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Wanderer

28 Juni 2012 | Spanje, Burgos

Passed the 300km mark today! Fitting for the 15th day :)

Left early this morning, but after 1km the Korean guy and I noticed I had left my hat in the refugio. So we went back to get it, and as we re-started our trip, we noticed we'd taken the wrong way before and actually needed to take a turn somewhere. Is that karma or what?!?

Approaching the next big city - Burgos - the actual Camino would have taken us through industrial areas, an airport, modern housing areas and along freeways. But someone recommended a little detour, which is somewhat semi-official and directions are mostly indicated there as well. The detour took us through forests and parks, way better!

Like yesterday, the weather wasn't too bad. Cloudy and a little breeze. Somewhere along the way I lost the Korean guy, but met up with two Dutch ladies I met earlier. Had a nice time walking with them.

So, currently in Burgos. There's a festival on here that goes on for days, the Fiesta de San Pedro. Lots of music and activities everywhere. I can't really see any of it though, as my heels are hurting like a [...], so I'm hanging out in our hostel instead. This is a really big hostel: Five floors, an elevator, and huge dormitories. Already lost my way here once :)

Attended a church service tonight, and bought an umbrella to protect myself against the sun. It may look ridiculous but I don't care: It's a necessity in these parts. Even the Spanish are complaining - this is hot even to their standards. I had dinner with the Spanish guy I met yesterday, and we discussed lots of stuff, including why several Spanish regions desire independence. Very interesting.

I think I'll stick around Burgos tomorrow and have a look around town. I could use a break.

  • 30 Juni 2012 - 09:27

    Désirée Bruggema:

    Hi Wendela,

    I am a member of the PKN-community, present at your sent-off service. Just read all of your blogs yesterday and today.

    You are a good blogwriter, even in english, with lots of humour! It makes it easy to follow you along the road.... It seems to me you are doing great and having a time of your life....

    One question though: I understood this trip was also meant to be a sort of spiritual journey. But in your blogs I only read about your feet, back, the landscape and refugios, people you meet....

    I don't want/need a very specific answer (to personal), but how about
    the spiritual side of it all? Is there any time/energy/silence left to contemplate? Or maybe you will only start doing that when save and sound home again?

    Just curious..... Enjoy!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Wanderer

Hoi! Hier vind je Wanderer's reisdagboek. Na 10 jaar studeren was het hoog tijd om er eens voor lange tijd tussenuit te gaan en even helemaal tot mezelf te komen. Mijn reis begint met een kort bezoek aan een penvriend en een museum in Parijs, hierna reis ik door voor een maand vrijwilligerswerk in Taizé. Maar de échte reis begint pas daarna: 800 km. lopen, van St.Jean-Pied-de-Port naar Santiago de Compostella.

Actief sinds 25 Mei 2012
Verslag gelezen: 185
Totaal aantal bezoekers 30603

Voorgaande reizen:

20 April 2013 - 16 Juni 2013

Camino de Santiago de Compostela, part II

30 Mei 2012 - 09 Juli 2012

Camino de Santiago de Compostela, part I

Landen bezocht: